Top 5 Travel Destinations of 2014

I LOVE READING LONELY PLANET’S yearly top travel destination lists.

I certainly don’t always agree, but there is not one country in the world that I am not interested in visiting. And there are probably only two places that I won’t be able to visit because of religious or logistical reasons: Mecca and space. I think that everywhere else, if I get the chance, will be incredible.

But reading those lists is an experience that opens my eyes to countries I may have overlooked or reminded me of places I have been to and come to love.

In light of some big changes about to happen in my current living situation, I figured it was the perfect time to consider my own top 5 in travel for 2014. I probably won’t make it to all of these places this year, but I’m ambitious, so why not dream big? (Note: These are in no particular order)

1. Dominican Republic

Dominican Republic. Photo: marcia furman.

Dominican Republic. Photo: marcia furman.

2. Solomon Islands

Solomon Islands. Photo: Stefan Krasowski

Solomon Islands. Photo: Stefan Krasowski

3. Angola

Angola. Photo: Oscar Megía.

Angola. Photo: Oscar Megía.

4. Northern Queensland, Australia

Cairns, Australia. Photo: John (Sheba_Also)

Cairns, Australia. Photo: John (Sheba_Also)

5. Bangladesh

Bangladesh. Photo: WorldFish

Bangladesh. Photo: WorldFish

Where are you dreaming of travelling to this year?

– AB

 

Leave a comment